Idiots Abound!

So, I am driving home from work today and there are two areas on Route 1 that you need to merge into the left lane. These areas are clearly marked with “must merge left” on three different signs. I always make a point to ride in the left lane so that I am prepared to merge prior to the lane running out like it does in the right lane. I drive thru these merge points everyday and everyday some a-hole wants to drive to the front of the line and try to cut you off or run you off the road. Today is no different.

I get to the second merge point and the car behind me is atleast 10 car lengths back or more, I figure this is plenty of room for the Jeep Grand Cherokee to get into. The road is merging closer and closer into one lane. The jeep refuses to merge, she/he (didn’t get a good look at the face but I think it was a woman) keeps coming at me, riding on my side like it was going to intimidate me into submission, she didn’t even flip on her blinker. I look in my rear-view and there is still a mile of room for this moron to get behind me. I keep driving in the left lane, we are toe to toe and I refuse to give an inch. Finally the guys tries to push me into the railing, I didn’t move, I was straight as an arrow. The jeep eventually gets behind me right before they would be completely riding on the shoulder as she got behind me she lays on the horn as if I am in the wrong. As she gets behind me she starts riding my ass, she swings into the other lane, another car is blocking her, she swings back behind me, she passes the car. She is on the side of me now and rolls down her window, I speed up, I am not stupid enough to have a verbal argument while driving 70mph. She gets behind me again and gives the finger! I give her the okay gesture. She gets her phone out and is trying to take a picture of my car! I changed lanes two more times so that I was furthest away from her. I tried to get behind her but she slowed to about 55mph (in a 65mph zone) just so I can’t get behind her. She gets off at the next exit so I never had a chance to get her license plate.

I am quite certain she will call the police and give some cock and bull story about me having road rage. I was thinking I should call the cops but I don’t have her license plate number, so would it do me any good? Anytime I have ever called the police they never seem to be able to do anything so I figure what is the point! I called my mom and gave her the facts so she would be aware in-case the cops called looking for my dad (my car is still registered in his name since he originally bought my car when I was 17). My mother is not the least bit worried and neither am I but I thought I should probably write this all down while it is still fresh in my mind!

Do you think I was in the wrong?

Should I have given in to the psycho woman?

What lesson would she have learned if I had let her get in-front of me?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. worldofwinks
    May 30, 2007 @ 22:52:25

    You don’t have a license? Did I read that wrong? It’s late, help me out here.

    Regardless, the rage of some drivers never ceases to amaze me!

  2. fancythis
    May 30, 2007 @ 22:59:11

    she has a license winks, her car is just registered in her dad’s name.

    I think that she was completely in the wrong. SHE was the one who had to do the yielding since it was HER lane that was ending. She has no case even if she does call the cops.

  3. lifelemons
    May 30, 2007 @ 23:08:32

    Oh dear God no! I have a license and am completely legal. I have never been in an accident and have only one speeding ticket. Knock on wood!

    I fixed what I wrote! Thanks for pointing that out! I surely did write “I don’t have a license” I meant to write that I didn’t have her license plate number.

  4. Amber
    May 31, 2007 @ 13:29:59

    I might not be the best person to answer those questions because EVERYTHING annoys the shit out of me when driving, but I absolutely do NOT think you did anything wrong. I highly doubt anything will come of it and even if you did get a phone call or something, it’d be her word against yours, so I wouldn’t even worry about it! :-)

  5. mannabozo
    May 31, 2007 @ 23:58:37

    You did the right thing. Karma will pay that ***c* back.

Leave a comment