First OB Appointment! (10 weeks, 2 days)

Much to my surprise it was pretty much like having an annual. For those who don’t know what an annual is, allow me to explain. Get a pap-smear, feel around on your uterus, leave. You are in and out of the actual exam in about two seconds.

I think I spent a half an hour filling out forms, did you know they ask you if you want your baby to have a social security number? I had to check yes and sign my name! I must be naive because I really thought everyone (from this country)  was automatically given a number, I thought that question was very odd.

They gave me a huge shopping bag full of free stuff and information, very neat, I can’t wait to get home and look through it!

I also had blood drawn about seven vials and had to pee in a cup, I hope all that blood work comes back okay. I didn’t even think to ask exactly what all they were checking.

So far so good! Next month we will get to listen to the babies heartbeat, how exciting!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. knittingnoob
    Aug 21, 2007 @ 18:50:54

    How weird is that, I thought SS# were automatic too! I don’t remember signing anything like that here. hmmm…

    Get used to peeing in a cup, it happens every appointment.

    Also, ask your doctor if they sell or give out your info. I discovered mine did after my junk mail tripled. Really kinda upsetting.

    I hope the next month goes fast so you can hear the heartbeat, its very exciting. And it sounds like a train, according to my 6 year old!

    Take care of yourself!

  2. teamwinks
    Aug 21, 2007 @ 21:23:13

    Lucky’s bio mom didn’t check the box, and as a result he doesn’t have a ss#. The adoption worker has applied for one, but it hasn’t been asigned yet. I had no clue!

    We also had to apply for a birth certificate.

    Thanks for the update!

  3. Pinks & Blues Girls
    Aug 22, 2007 @ 18:41:50

    Glad it went so well!! Can’t wait for the report on the heartbeat next month!!

    Jane

Leave a comment